Fall Tunes

After a particularly dreadfully hot summer here in Northern California fall is finally on the horizon. I can feel the temperature dipping, dipping until it gets to that oh-so sweet spot that is 65 degrees. Or lower, I can take lower, too. Anything above 85 is just unbearable to me, something I get from my father I think, who has been trying to talk mum into moving to Alaska for decades. But Fall, man oh man, I could live in a place where Fall was a year ‘round phenomenon.

And what music would soundtrack such a place? Everyone would have a different take on what albums they would take with them to Fall Island, of this I am sure. My #1 selection would be The Boo Radleys Giant Steps, as I remember hearing this for the first time in the Fall, but folks from Great Britain, I’ve learned, think of my Fall classic as a summery sort of thing as I believe it came out over there in early July. So, like all lists, this is subjective and reliant on geography, amongst other factors. But since this is my blog, I’ll give you my top 10 Fall records. Come back tomorrow, though. I may have a different list!

In no particular order:

Boo Radleys, Giant Steps

OMD, Organisation

Pet Shop Boys, Introspective

Simple Minds, New Gold Dream

David Bowie, The Man Who Sold The World

Robyn Hitchcock, I Often Dream Of Trains

Teenage Fan Club, Bandwagonesque

Blur, The Great Escape

The Kinks, Village Green Preservation Society

The Beatles, Rubber Soul

