Different Class: Deluxe Edition

pulp 001DAMN this Deluxe Edition of Pulp’s Different Class album is gorgeous!! It’s a double gateford, ultra high gloss, with embossed letters and graphics on the cover, and a classy silver typeface. Gorgeous, man! Sexy! It even has one of those original Deluxe Edition plastic casings to protect it, which have been replaced as of late with a wrap around sticker that, at worst, sometimes removes the gloss along with it!

The booklet is 32 pages of essays, track by track commentary and album credits in addition to an expanded collection of those artistic band photos that originally accompanied the original.

 Disk one, which contains the remastered original LP, sounds better than it ever has, and although it’s louder I get none of the distortion when I crank the sucker. The second CD is a mix of B-Sides, demo versions, remixes (the Vocoda Mix of Common People is great, the Nick Cave Karaoke version of Disco 2000 not so much!), and a fantastic recording of Pulp performing Common People at Glastonbury music festival in 1995).

pulp 002Some of these so-called “Deluxe Editions” are anything but, and a lot of them seem like cash grabs by the record label. Over the years I have amassed quite a few of these puppies but this is, I believe, the first time I’ve ever discussed one of them in detail. I’ve mentioned them a bit in my end of the year polls, but not in detail. This Different Class DE inspired me to do so, and if I feel up to it I may even make this type of post a semi-regular one.

What I’d really like, though, would be to get YOUR opinion on these things. Are they a waste of money, or do they really offer something to the music fan? Are too many “B” albums getting the deluxe treatment (I think so!)? What happens when they’ve done ‘em all? What do you like to see on these, if anything?

NEXT UP: THE HOUSEMARTINS DELUXE VERSION OF LONDON 0 HULL 4

