Muswell Hillbillies

muswellI am not only a huge fan of the Kinks I am also a gigantic fan of their Deluxe Edition campaign, which started, I believe, in 2011 and focused solely on their ’60’s output. They are not only beautifully presented, and sound wonderful, but come complete with a plethora of really worthy bonus tracks. Face To Face, Something Else, Arthur and Village Green (this one’s a 3-disk set that could and should have been widdled down to 2, but that’s another story) are the best of the bunch. A good compilation (the double Best Of The Kinks) will fill in the early career quite handily, I think. But I was starting to wonder when, if ever,  the underrated ’70’s albums would get their moment in the sun. I mean, c’mon! Lola Vs The Powermen is a BRILLIANT album, and among their finest ever!

Now there’s hope with the announcement that their 1971 album Muswell Hillbillies will be released in the Deluxe format on July 29th of this year. I’m sorry, but I am not sure whether that’s a UK or North America release date, but no matter where you live it looks like you’ll need to pick this up, no matter what the international shipping fees are. Here’s a track listing:

Disc: 1

  • 1. Twentieth Century Man
  • 2. Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues
  • 3. Holiday
  • 4. Skin And Bone
  • 5. Alcohol
  • 6. Complicated Life
  • 7. Here Come The People In Grey
  • 8. Have A Cuppa Tea
  • 9. Holloway Jail
  • 10. Oklahoma USA
  • 11. Uncle Son
  • 12. Muswell Hillbilly

Disc: 2

  • 1. Lavender Lane
  • 2. Mountain Woman
  • 3. Have A Cuppa Tea (Alternate Version)
  • 4. Muswell Hillbilly (1976 Remix)
  • 5. Uncle Son (Alternate Version)
  • 6. Kentucky Moon
  • 7. Nobody’s Fool (Demo Version)
  • 8. 20th Century Man (Alternate Instrumental Take)
  • 9. 20th Century Man (1976 Remix)
  • 10. Queenie
  • 11. Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues (Live At Kensington House – 1972)
  • 12. Holiday (Live At Kensington House – 1972)
  • 13. Skin And Bone (Live At Kensington House – 1972)