What Albums, and New Order, Mean to Tim Burgess Of The Charlatans

“I’ve got a lot of records. They just kind of built up. From when I was first given money it’s what I’d buy, from being about 10. There’s only ever more, I never get rid of any. Even the ones I’m not keen on, I might grow to love them, so once they’re in, they’re in. Some are worth a lot of money, many are worth almost nothing. Lots of them have taken up a lot of my time and some of them have been listened to only once. But none in my collection has meant more and been more enduring than New Orders’ Power Corruption And Lies. I bought it from Woolworth’s in Northwich in the spring or summer of 1983. I had bought their single ‘Temptation’ in 1982, but it wasn’t ’til the chart rundown one Sunday evening in 1983, upstairs at my mum and dad’s, that my world was changed. There was no announcement, as I must’ve missed the very beginning of the song, but for a little over five minutes I was captivated by machine rhythms and lyrics about ships in harbours and “can and shall obey”-ing. The bass was high and the words were cold, but it was the most thrilling and emotional song I had ever heard. The record was ‘Blue Monday’.”

