No reservations about Anthony Bourdain

If I could have dinner with anybody alive in the world right now it would be Tony Bourdain. His credentials as a chef, a globetrotting foodie, a survivor of the mid 70’s CBGBs scene and a historian of pre-code comics of the 1950’s is not only impressive but also inspirational. That someone can actually make a living, a damn good living as a matter of fact, doing what he loves without compromising anything is a wonderful thing to behold.

Hs show No Reservations on the Travel Channel is coming to an end after 8 seasons on the air. I’m sure he’ll come up with something new but I can’t pretend I won’t miss it. I think I’ve seen all of the shows and it’s become, over the years part of my Sunday morning routine. I can’t really watch it with my kids around. The guy smokes, swears, and the depiction of slaughter is often quite graphic. He’s been known to get so drunk on occasion that he falls down. His shows depict the truth as far as I can tell. There is no lying in him. He has integrity and No Reservations is a true rarity in the made up and bullshit world of so-called “reality t.v.”

Bourdain is one of the last true originals and I hope his next venture continues in the same vein.

Thanks, Tony. Good luck.

