Reader’s Choice: Pitchfork Poll

Those love ’em or hate ’em folks over at Pitchfork, last year, polled their readers on what they thought were the absolute best 200 albums since the site’s inception (1996-2012), and it appears their core readership are just as obtuse as the critics. I own/have listened to a whopping 65 out of the 200, which is 32.5%. Now, I’m not saying that I’m the canary in the coalmine when it comes to sniffing out good music; far from it. I know there’s tons and tons of really great albums out there I’ve yet to discover. But there are definitely some suspect choices on here. My initial thoughts on this list:

Kanye West: Will someone clue me in on what the appeal is here? 5 albums in the top 200?

Bon Iver: See Kanye West.

Stankonia, by Outkast, crops up on all sorts of lists these days. I guess I better give it a listen…

Is every single Radiohead album so good that they all warrant inclusion on every ‘best of’ list since 1997? I don’d think so.

Why the hell are the Shins so revered? A second rate Emo group, as far as I can tell.

I cannot believe that The Strokes Room On Fire made the top 100!

TV On The Radio sucks some serious ass, and I cannot fathom why people listen to them.

Moon Safari should have been much, much higher than #87.

Who the hell areTthe Weeknd and J. Dilla?

Will somebody please put Sufjan Stevens out of his misery? Pretty please?

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah was overrated when they first came out and my perception hasn’t changed one iota.

Band Of Horses? More like My Morning Jacket Lite. C’mon!

Good on ya for including Caribou’s Swim on the list!

Way too much second tier hip hop on here.

Emperor Tomato Ketchup by Stereolab should have been in the top 20, at least, instead of #185!

Who the hell is Jens Lekman (#200?)

You can read the whole list here and come to your own conclusions.

 

 

 

