Spooky Alternatives

Almost Halloween, folks, one of my favorite holidays. Each year I get to break out some of my favorite scary tunes and play them ad nauseum until the wife and kids tell me to stop. Here are a few favorites that seem to get the most rotations in the Uncle E household:

The Cramps, Bad Music For Bad People: A compilation but containing the cream of the crop of the Cramps early years such as Human Fly, TV Set, Garbageman and Goo Goo Muck.

The Fuzztones, Lysergic Emanations: This is a hard one to track down, but well worth the hunt. Ward 81 is my personal favorite, but there are many more spooky gems on this one: A great cover of Strychnine, Cinderella, She’s Wicked and Bad News Travels Fast are just a few.

The Misfits, Walk Among Us: I Turned Into A Martian, Mommy Can I Go Out And Kill Tonight, Astro Zombies and Brain Eaters are the cream. I actually prefer the early compilation Legacy Of Brutality better, but you can’t go wrong with this one.

Reverend Horton Heat, Holy Roller: Ok, so this one’s a comp, so sue me. Raging guitars and flat out psychobilly make this one a great addition to your collection.

But if you only pick one album, let’s make it Little Steven’s Halloween A Go-Go, which contains the following tracks:
• 01 The Electric Prunes – “I Had Too Much to Dream”
• 02 Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band – “Restless Nights”
• 03 The Chesterfield Kings – “Running Through My Nightmares”
• 04 The Fuzztones – “I’m the Wolfman”
• 05 Howlin’ Wolf – “Howlin’ For My Darlin'”
• 06 Minus 5 – “Lies of the Living Dead”
• 07 Roky Erickson and the Aliens – “I Walked With a Zombie”
• 08 Jarvis Humby – “Man with the X-Ray Eyes”
• 09 Sweatmaster – “I am a Demon and I Love Rock n Roll”
• 10 Tegan and Sara – “Walking With A Ghost”
• 11 The Stems – “She’s a Monster”
• 12 Carl Perkins – “Put Your Cat Clothes On”
• 13 John Zacherle ‘The Cool Ghoul’ – “Dinner with Drac (Part 1)”
• 14 The Pretty Things – “Walking Through My Dreams”
• 15 Donovan – “Season of the Witch”

…and here’s one that scared the crap out of me as a kid. You think I’m kiding, right? A Disney sound affect album, scary? You bet your ass!! Get your hands on a copy, listen in a dark room with headphones, THEN you and I can have a conversation!

