Did you hear about the cannibal who passed his uncle in the woods?

It’s the prerogative of the old(er) music fan to draw comparisons to the bands of their youth when listening or critiquing new stuff. I’m not that old, a youngish 44, but I’m at that place where it’s getting harder and harder to not make those comparisons. But I’ll tell you where I am not. I am not at the place where I simply and callously write off a band just because they utilize certain sounds or styles of older bands. For the next few years I doubt you’ll ever hear me say, or see me write, a line like “Why would I want to listen to Band X when I can put on the original Band Y, who obviously did it better?” Cannibalism is a very important part of rock and roll. It’s how it grows. Anyone can cook a steak on the BBQ, but in order to make that steak transcendent and unique from the rest you need to cook it properly and add some seasonings of your own. And let it rest, of course, before you slice it up and consume it. You don’t become a master chef overnight. It takes trial and error, a lot of experimentation and years honing your skills. All chefs start with the same basics, but the one’s who really stand out and make their mark are those that are able to make something special out of the most basic of ingredients. And that’s just what the best bands do, too.

As Hannibal Lecter is wont to say: “I must go know Clarice, I’m having an old friend for dinner.”

Man, I’m starvin’!

