A laglegur fjári gott albúm!

Finally broke down and bought Agaetis Byrjun by Sigur Ros, an album that was released over 13 years ago. I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to buy it. The critics loved it, music aficionados all over the world loved it, and the mainstream didn’t ‘understand’ it. It had everything going for it, sounded right up my alley, but I waited over a decade. Looking back I’m sure it was the fact that it’s been tagged with that most despicable genre called “post rock”, which I’ve never cottoned to. In addition to being labeled as such I guess the fact that the lyrics are in some fictional Icelandic language most probably was a contributor to my 13 year procrastination.

Long story short, it’s pretty great. Probably not as great and groundbreaking had I actually listened to it upon its release date, but still pretty darned great. Ethereal is an overused term but here it really applies. Otherworldly, too. Like hover crafting over a frozen, alien tundra at dusk kind of an album.

I’ve only given it a couple of spins so I can’t speak to the individual songs, or whether it’ll hold my interest, but I can tell you that if you’ve been putting off buying this album for any or all of the above reasons then by all means go out and purchase it.

