The Top Songs Of The 1960’s: #15-#1

1. The Beach Boys, God Only Knows: This has always been my favorite song of the ‘60’s, even when I was too young to really appreciate the Beach Boys. Carl Wilson’s vocals have never been bettered, by any singer, in any decade, ever. And chances are it never will.

2. The Kinks, Waterloo Sunset: Give it up for the most honest and affecting song of the decade by the most underrated band of all time. This is a masterpiece of the highest order.

3. The Beatles, A Day In The Life: The obvious one, but for a reason. Or two, or 3, or 4…

4. The Velvet Underground, I’m Waiting For The Man: The Banana Album, mostly due to Nico’s…ahem…contributions is slightly overrated, but this track about scoring junk is fine fine fine.

5. David Bowie, Space Oddity: Although rush released to coincide with the moon landing, Space Oddity will always be my most favorite Bowie song if for no other reason than it was the first one I really fell in love with.

6. Louis Armstrong, What A Wonderful World: The only song on this list that can make me feel happy and sad at the same time.

7. Frank Sinatra, One For My Baby (and one more for the road): The sound of a smoke filled room and a gin soaked piano. I chose a live version of this (which is cheating…a bit) because the studio version was released in the ‘50’s.

 8. Pink Floyd, See Emily Play: The best example of the genius of Sid Barett.

9. Harry Nilsson, One: A great example of less is more. Haunting.

10. The Stooges, 1969: A forgotten but very powerful track from the Stooges debut, and my personal favorite. It pounds the shit out of me every time I hear it.

 11. The Rolling Stones: You Can’t Always Get What You Want

12. Bob Dylan, Like A Rolling Stone: A bitter, angry song and the sound of a new Dylan.

13. Van Morrison, Astral Weeks: The only Van-The-Man song that made my list. He’s an acquired taste, but Astral Weeks is a treasure. The album, too.

14. The Who, Sparks: As Cameron Crowe says, “listen to this in the dark, stoned with a single candle burning and it will change your life.” Maybe not, but it’s still the best thing The Who did in the ‘60’s.

15. The Beatles, Revolution: Can you believe this was a “B” side?

