Albums For A Rainy Day, Round II

“Rainy day people always seem to know when it’s time to call
Rainy day people don’t talk, they just listen till they’ve heard it all.”
—G Lightfoot

I’m a rainy day person. I love what most would call “shitty weather”. Moreover I love being sick, especially during a workweek, when it’s lousy outside. Why? Because it forces me to slow down, stay in comfy clothes and be horizontal. Hallucinations, should they occur due to the fever, are always a welcome addition, and nothing half a bottle of Nyquil can’t fix.

What, oh what, kind of music best soundtracks such a day? Deep albums you need to immerse yourself in and fully absorb the complexities of the music s’what cha need. At any rate, s’what I need. Doesn’t have to be Bauhaus, or The Smiths, or The Cure, or Sisters Of Mercy, although all of these are decent choices. Of course, like all lists, what makes an album a “bad weather” or “rainy day” album is subjective. Sometimes it’s when said album was released and sometimes it’s when the album took hold of your psyche, when you finally ‘got it’. The last time I did a list like this I mentioned that I considered the Boo Radleys “Giant Steps” to be a winter album, and longtime friend of the blog Simon wrote:

“The Boo Radleys funnily enough is a favourite sunshine album for me. It always reminds me of the summer of that year. Just looking at the sleeve makes me think of London in the sun.”

The album was recorded in February and March of 1993, and if memory serves me correctly it probably was released in England during the summer months, so Simon’s comment would make sense. I, however, probably didn’t pick it up until that same winter, but asking me to remember something that happened yesterday is ridiculous, much less something that happened 18 years ago.

The reason all of us list-o-maniacs create the same lists every other year or so is to amuse ourselves by seeing how much our tastes have changed, and I’m no different. Yes, I’m a freak, it’s totally true.

Here’s my list from 2009:

White Album, Beatles
At My Age, Nick Lowe
Skylarking, XTC
Vanishing Point, Primal Scream
Giant Steps, Boo Radleys
Blood On The Tracks, Bob Dylan
Moon Safari, AIR
Soft Bulletin, Flaming Lips
Sandinista, The Clash
The Wall, Pink Floyd
Village Green Preservation Society, Kinks
Dubnobasswithmyheadman, Underworld
Deserter’s Songs, Mercury Rev

Out of the 13 albums listed below I would strike 7. Here’s the new and improved 2011 list:

Raw Power, Iggy and the Stooges
Giant Steps, Boo Radleys
Moon Safari, AIR
Sandinista, The Clash
Animals, Pink Floyd
Village Green Preservation Society, Kinks
Dubnobasswithmyheadman, Underworld
Deserter’s Songs, Mercury Rev
Lexicon Of Love, ABC
For Your Pleasure, Roxy Music
Tales Of Mystery and Imagination, Alan Parsons Project
Crime Of The Century, Supertramp
In It For The Money, Supergrass
Embryonic, Flaming Lips
I Often Dream Of Trains, Robyn Hitchcock
Rattlesnakes, Lloyd Cole
Plastic Surgery Disasters, DK’s
Bath Of Bacon, Jazz Butcher
Mask, Bauhaus
Suicide, Suicide

…and you?

