“I’ve got you under my skin where the rain can’t get in”

The The, Soul Mining

The year is 1983, and I am 15 years old. I am heavily into the New Wave, although that title didn’t mean anything to me at that time, and it means nothing to me now. I had discovered the joys of cheap wine and good Canadian lager and was introduced to a whole bevy of weird sounding bands like The Smiths, Fad Gadget, Bauhaus, Gang Of 4 and the Cramps.

And then I heard “This Is The Day” by The The:

“Well you didn’t wake up this morning
Because you didn’t go to bed
You were watching the whites of your eyes
Turn red”

I was hooked immediately and went out and bought the album, Soul Mining, and every 12” I could find. Long story short, I devoured this album. I played it to death, and out of all of the albums from that time I still think it is a brilliant listen. Dark, foreboding, and strangely optimistic, Soul Mining took me on a journey that’s lasted 28 years.

“Peeling the skin back from my eyes, I felt suprised
that the time on the clock was the time I usually retired
to the place where I cleared my head of you;
but just for today, i think I’ll lie here and dream of you.

A howling wind blows the litter as the rain flows,
As street lamps pour orange colored shapes through your window,
a broken soul stares from a pair of watering eyes,
uncertain emotions force an uncertain smile…”

Wonderful stuff.

