The Best Songs Of The 70’s

Mother told me, yes, she told me I’d meet girls like you
She also told me, “Stay away, you’ll never know what you’ll catch”
Just the other day I heard a soldier falling off some Indonesian junk that’s going round

Mommy’s alright, Daddy’s alright, they just seem a little weird
Surrender, surrender, but don’t give yourself away

Father says, “Your mother’s right, she’s really up on things”
“Before we married, Mommy served in the WACS in the Philippines”
Now, I had heard the WACS recruited old maids for the war
But mommy isn’t one of those, I’ve known her all these years

Mommy’s alright, Daddy’s alright, they just seem a little weird
Surrender, surrender, but don’t give yourself away

Punk, funk, glam, metal, new wave, disco. The 70’s had it all, man. There was a lot of Coke and, possibly due to the Coke, a lot of crap. But among the crap, if you looked hard enough, you found some gold. And here’s my list, ranked via my iPod’s (which I’m listening to again, by the way) “Most Played”. Feels good to me.

Papa Was A Rolling Stone, The Temptations
Accidents Will Happen, Elvis Costello
Redemption Song, Bob Marley
Feel Flows, The Beach Boys
New Rose, The Damned
Is She really Going out With Him, Joe Jackson
Pablo Picasso, The Modern Lovers
Feel, Big Star
Good Times Roll, The Cars
Mr Blue Sky, E.L.O.
Heroes, David Bowie
Rednecks, Randy Newman
Heart Of Glass, Blondie
Jet, Paul McCartney
Marquee Moon, Television
I Love The Sound Of Breaking Glass, nick Lowe
The Passenger, Iggy pop
The Model, Kraftwerk
2HB, Roxy Music
Maggot Brain, Funkadelic
Surrender, Cheap Trick
Funhouse, The Stooges
Rockaway Beach, Ramones
Anarchy In The UK, The Sex Pistols
Jump Into The Fire, Harry Nilsson
Imagine, John Lennon
Sweet Jane, Velvet Underground
I Found That Essence Rare, Gang Of Four
Tangled Up In Blue, Bob Dylan
Any Major Dude Will Tell You, Steely Dan
Gone Hollywood, Supertramp
Muswell Hillbilly
No More Mr Nice Guy, Alice Cooper
Dreams, Fleetwood Mac
Making Plans For Nigel, XTC
Jive Talkin’, The Bee Gees
Superstition, Stevie Wonder
Hallogallo, Neu
20th Century Boy, T. Rex
Ever Fallen In Love, The Buzzcocks
Peaches, The Stranglers
Baba O Riley, The Who
My Sweet Lord, George Harrison
Atomic Punk, Van Halen
Let There Be Rock, AC/DC
White Man In Hammersmith Palais
Concrete Jungle, The Specials
Speak To Me/Breathe, Pink Floyd
Me and Julio Down By The Schoolyard, Paul Simon
The Needle And The Damage Done, Neil Young
Run Through The Jungle, Creedence Clearwater Revival
Psycho Killer, Talking Heads
Don’t Stop Till you Get Enough, Michael Jackson
Emotional Rescue, Rolling Stones

