Welcome to the psychedelic 60’s, man. Yeah!

A time to be born, a time to die
A time to plant, a time to reap
A time to kill, a time to heal
A time to laugh, a time to weep
A time to build up, a time to break down
A time to dance, a time to mourn
A time to cast away stones, a time to gather stones together
A time of love, a time of hate
A time of war, a time of peace
A time you may embrace, a time to refrain from embracing
A time to gain, a time to lose
A time to rend, a time to sew
A time for love, a time for hate
A time for peace, I swear it’s not too late

The 60’s were for the most part defined by singles. Albums were a mid to late 60’s thang, and as I was scanning through my library I noticed a couple of things:

#1. It wasn’t all about peace and love, especially in Detroit and especially near the end of the decade.

#2. As corny as some of these songs may seem to you youngsters, the music of the 60’s changed the course of popular music as we now know it. I hear shades of it in everything that you’re listening to now. So suck it, Junior, and stop wearing my Beatles T-shirt!

#3. Radicals, anti-war protests, the psychedelic poster artwork; all fueled by the music and, to a lesser extent, politics and the war. Oh yeah, and “THAT LYING SONOFABITCH JOHNSON!!!”

#4. The Beatles didn’t top my list.

#5. Finally, man, this list was HARD. Some of the most fantastic tunes ever recorded. So many brilliant tracks.

My rules: only one song per band. And this list is ranked.

Dig it.

God Only Knows, The Beach Boys
One For My Baby (and one more for the road), Frank Sinatra
Waterloo Sunset, The Kinks
Heroin, The Velvet Underground
What A Wonderful World, Louis Armstrong
One, Harry Nilsson
Tomorrow Never Knows, The Beatles
Slip Inside This House, The 13th Floor Elevators
Gimme Shelter, The Rolling Stones
The Weight, The Band
Folsom Prison Blues, Johnny Cash
Like A Rolling Stone, Bob Dylan
My Girl, The Temptations
Donovan, Hurdy Gurdy Man
I’m A Believer, The Monkees
Georgia On My Mind, Ray Charles
Alone Again Or, Love
Kick Out The Jams, MC5
See Emily Play, pink Floyd
Strychnine, The Sonics
At Last by Etta James
Are You Experienced, Jimi Hendrix
Down By The River, Neil Young
Eight Miles High, The Byrds
Pappa’s Got A Brand New Bag, James Brown
For What It’s Worth, Buffalo Springfield
96 Tears, ? and the Mysterians
I Can See For Miles, The Who
Fortunate Son, Creedence Clearwater Revival
1969, The Stooges
I Want You Back, The Jackson 5
Light My Fire, The Doors
Space Oddity, David Bowie
Son Of A Preacher Man, Dusty Springfield
Suzanne, Leonard Cohen
Time Of The Season, The Zombies
Truckin’, Grateful Dead
Stand By Me, Ben E King
White Rabbit, Jefferson Airplane
It’s The Same Old Song, The Four Tops
Bus Stop, The Hollie’s
Beyond The Sea, Bobby Darin
Uptight (Everything’s Allright), Stevie Wonder
Linus and Lucy, Vince Guaraldi Trio

