Celebrating The Lowly Song

Everyone knows I’m an album guy. But what are albums if not a carefully sequenced set of songs?

The album as such is pretty much dead. I think I have to concede that fact. As a matter of fact, just last night as my wife and kids were watching the American Idol “results show”, I also came to the conclusion that rock and roll is also as dead as a frickin’ door nail.

I see more kids wearing vintage concert tee’s each and every day. The Ramones, Fleetwood Mac, ELO, Queen, The DK’s and many more. I even saw a teenage girl recently, couldn’t have been over 15 years old bless her heart, with a Black Flag bar tattoo on her arm.

I guess that in the absence of great, new music these kids are forced to raid their parents record collection. I’m ok with that. As the great Mr. Burns is wont to say from time to time, “Let the fools have their tar-tar sauce!”

Songs.

We were talking about songs, right?

Many rock snobs consider the lowly song, especially within the popular music genre, to be but a very simple, and often throwaway, piece of the whole; however, some musicologists who are “both contemptuous and condescending of songs and popular music in general” and who are looking for “art” of production, musical form, etc, are simply missing the point. You can’t analyze this stuff. It is what it is, and every song has a different meaning to different people.

In this age of the ipod I think it apropos we spend a little time talking about individual songs. And hey, what the hell, let’s do a list. This little blog here was built on lists, and We haven’t done one in a while. Your old Uncle E has been too busy whining and waxing nostalgic about “the good old days”. Let’s get back to basics. Over the next couple of posts or so I’ll be attempting to compile my favorite songs by decade, starting with the 50’s.

Top Songs Of The 1950’s:

“So What?” by Miles Davis
“Rave On” by Buddy Holly
“Be Bop A Lula”, by Gene Vincent
“Folsom Prison Blues” by Johnny Cash
“Johnny B Good” by Chuck Berry
“What’d I Say?” by Ray Charles
“Good Golly Miss Molly” by Little Richard
“Please Please Please” by James Brown
“That’s All Right” by Elvis Presley
“Mack The Knife” by Bobby Darin
“Shout” by the Isley Brothers
“Lonely Teardrops” by Jackie Wilson
“c’mon Everybody” by Eddie Cochran
“Young Blood” by The Coasters

