Can You Dig It, Crusoe?

“Are you aware? Do you care? Are you hip, to the flip side of censorship?”

 You’re stranded on a desert island. You build a generator out of coconuts, palm leaves and an old John Deer lawnmower that just washed onshore. Out of the corner of your eye you spot a crudely made hut which just so happens to contain a brand new JVC stereo system, including JBL speakers, four 18-inch Velodyne subwoofers, five Krell power amplifiers, a Mark Levinson pre-amplifier and, of course, an eye catching Clearaudio Statement Turntable.

 Luckily, before you took that three-hour tour, you had the foresight to pack 5 treasured cd’s into your fanny pack.

 What were they?

 Robin Hilton over at NPR asked a similar question recently on her blog, and stated: “I remember when I first put this list together. I tried really, really hard to pick albums that I knew I would never grow tired of, no matter how many times I listened to them. I avoided albums that I was in love with only at that moment. Albums that I was listening to more than any others, but probably wouldn’t in another ten years or less. I also need to think more about addressing all the different moods I might be while on the island. And, let’s be honest: do I really need Pink Floyd’s Dark Side Of The Moon? I’ve heard that album so many times, I really don’t need to play it ever again in order to appreciate it.”

She (he?) makes some interesting points. I’ve compiled my “Desert Island-5” many, many times and never once considered my “mood” when making my picks. But I think you’d have to, right? Because if you knew you were going to be stranded on a deserted island and were totally ok with that (because, after all, you went ahead and got on that boat even though you knew) you wouldn’t want to be stuck with nothing but all 5 of the Bon Scott era AC/DC albums. You’d want one for every possible mood. Happiness/Joy, Sadness, Anger/Fear, Disappointment and, finally, Love.

With this new criterion I can finally create my ultimate D.I.D. list!

Happiness/Joy Album: “London Calling” by The Clash

Sadness Album: “Pet Sounds” by the Beach Boys

Anger/Fear Album: “Plastic Surgery Disasters” by The Dead Kennedys

Disappointment Album: “The White Album” by The Beatles

Love Album: “Giant Steps” by The Boo Radleys

Yeah, yeah, I know. “You change your mind like you change your underwear, Uncle E…weekly.”, you say. If you did in fact say that, I’d tell you to “lighten up”. These kinds of useless exercises are what we music obsessives do to pass the time and justify our sickness. I know you want to, so go ahead.

What’re your top 5, pal?

