Top 5 Albums of the ’00’s

 

Is nothing original anymore? Was it ever? Or am I just turning into an aging hipster, the old curmudgeon that stubbornly states that the music of his generation was the only music that mattered, that nothing nowadays is worthwhile, or can compare to what came before? Is everything released today just a pale imitation of what’s come before, repackaged and pushed on kids just discovering the joys of music who don’t know any better?

The first decade of 2000, while containing some fairly brilliant releases, meant less to me personally than any decade since the 1960’s, and I wasn’t born until 1968! I suppose I could blame it on a number of factors: family, career, lack of time to absorb full albums, mp3’s and ipods diluting the impact of music, etc. But really, if I’m honest, it was more a decade of discovery (or rediscovery). Artists who I loved in the 70’s, 80’s and early 90’s made their way back into heavy rotation. And thanks to likeminded music fanatics from the web and in person, I found a whole host of new/old music that I somehow missed the first time around. I mean, how did I ever live without Nick Lowe, Wilco and The Flaming Lips? Some “newbies” weaseled their way in like LCD Soundsystem, but a quick perusal through my itunes library will reveal a real lack of “classics” from this period. I don’t think I’m alone. I’ve seen a huge amount of teenagers and twentysomethings wearing band t-shirts who peaked 2, 3 and even 4 decades before they were born, the majority of which couldn’t give you 5 albums from this decade that really meant something to them.

I’m at a crossroads, I think. Do I succumb to the age old adage that nothing will ever be as good as the music of my generation, or do I continue to search for life in modern music? I don’t know yet. What I do know is that 4 out of the 5 of my favorite albums from this decade were released by artists that formed during the 90’s or earlier.

 Super Furry Animals, Rings Around The World

Flaming Lips, Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots

My Morning Jacket, Z

Wilco, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

LCD Soundsystem, Sound Of Silver

Runners Up: Caribou, Andorra; MGMT, Oracular Spectacular; Nick Lowe, At My Age; M Ward, Post War; Gorillaz, Demon Days; Daft Punk, Alive 2007; Aqueduct, …Or Give Me Death; Paul Weller, Wake The Nation; Sufjan Stevens, Come On Feel The Illinois; Of Montreal, Satanic Panic In The Attic; Sloan, Action Pact; Spoon, Girls Can Tell

