The Independent Order Of The Terminally Odd

 
I like odd. I always have, especially when it comes to my music. Weird, ethereal, otherworldly, creative, left of center music that constantly challenges the very definition of what I consider art. My one prerequisite is that it has to be tuneful. Lou Reed’s Metal Machine Music, for example, is so bleak and devoid of melody that it has evaded my attention ever since it’s initial spin on my cd player. I can see (barely) how it may have some artistic merit to some people, but for me it’s just one man’s way to satify his recording obligations. 
 
 One’s mood, time of life, pivotal events, psychic vulnerability, peers, the media and many other factors play a role in what sticks and what doesn’t, what inspires and what repulses. In other words, music is an intensely personal and subjective beast that can’t really be classified. Ah, but once again, I digress. Back to the weird.

Those of you who come here often know that my music collection runs the gambit and that I’m not constrained by one particular genre or style. As long as it’s not manufactured by some music executive in a 3-piece suit, as long as it’s not a blatant attempt to cash in on trends and as long as the artist is making a heartfelt attempt to reach his audience while staying true to his artistic vision, I see merit and will give them a try. The majority don’t resonate, but those that do will generally stick with me for life, I reckon.
Weird stuff.

I started this post with the intent of creating a quickie list of some of the weirdest albums in my collection, and I suppose I should just get to it. The following is a grouping of some of the more odd albums in my collection that I truly cherish for their creative and subversive nature. You may think their “weirdness quotient” is lacking, might not think these selections are weird at all. Personally I define a“weird” album as one that’s strikingly odd throughout, unusually creative, containing sounds not generally heard in the mainstream. More often than not a great deal of these end up being extremely influential in the future. The irony is that some of these so-called “weird” albums, given time, become the norm and therefore cease to be “weird”. Weird, eh? Remember that the Cure, Depeche Mode, New Order, Velvet Underground, Sex Pistols, Grateful Dead, Elvis Costello and a host of other “accepted” bands were once considered weird.

Enough rambling! On with the list!

(Who’s Afraid Of) The Art Of Noise, by The Art Of Noise

The Man, by Bill Drummond

Their Satanic Majesties’ Second Request, by The Brian Jonestown Massacre

Locust Abortion Technician, by The Butthole Surfers

Suicide, by Suicide

Flaming Lips, Embryonic

We’re Only In It For The Money, by Frank Zappa and the Mothers Of Invention

Maggot Brain, by Funkadelic

Hawaii, by The High Llamas

Emperor Tomato Ketchup, by Stereolab

How I Quit Smoking, by Lambchop

Boces, by Mercury Rev

Satanic Panic In The Attic, by Of Montreal

Dusk At Cubist Castle, by Olivia Tremor Control

Jurassic Shift, by Ozric Tentacles

I Often Dream Of Trains, by Robyn Hitchcock

Wanna know what’s really weird? WordPress is inserting links on their own, now. Bastardos!

