The Best Of The Best Of The Best

So here’s what I did: I created my own “Best Of” playlists on my ipod. Virtually every band I have is now represented in “best of” form. I then created a “best of everything” playlist and transferred every one of these individual best of’s to that. It took a lot longer than I thought, trimming some huge collections down to mere favorites. Nick Lowe, the Flaming Lips and The Beatles were extremely time consuming and difficult. I had to make some hard decisions, man.

Of course I’ll have to tweak ’em occasionally, but that’s half the fun! Unlike most compilations created by record labels, these are custom made to suit my tastes. They’re full of deep album tracks, hits, some remixes and obscure B-sides, covering every decade and every genre (and sub-genre) in my collection.

The problem with ipods in my opinion is that there is so much to choose from that one can’t make up one’s mind! I’ve always been an album guy, but I have to admit that, due to time constraints (a much shorter commute, family/work obligations, etc) an excellently compiled playlist is much more practical.

Am I a freak for doing this? Probably. A nerd? Most definitely!

I listened to 15 songs this morning and was pretty satisfied with the results. At least the Pina Colada Song didn’t show up…

Peacock Suit by Paul Weller

Battersea Odyssey by Super Furry Animals

A Change At Christmas by The Flaming LIps

Who Was That Man by Nick Lowe

Dirt by The Stooges

Be My Lover by the Alice Cooper Group

Too Marvelous For Words by Frank Sinatra

Miserable Lie by The Smiths

Be Bop A Lula by Gene Vincent

Hell Is Chrome by Wilco

I Can’t Help Myself by Orange Juice

Hey Bulldog by The Beatles

I Heard It Through The Grapevine by CCR

Licking Stick by James Brown

Stormy Sky by The Kinks

