Galactus, File Sharing and The Pina Colada Song

Just what the hell is Galactus, devourer of worlds,

doing on a CAN album cover?

***************

Is it just me, or are some of the cheesiest songs ever put to vinyl making a comeback? I hear Rupert Holmes swinger classic “Escape (The Pina Colada Song) being blasted out car windows everywhere I go. I feel like I’m living in Twin Peaks, man. “I was tired of my la-dy/We’d been together too long…” Frightening stuff.

********************************************

Remember the “Home Taping Is Killing Music” initiative back in the 80’s? Did anyone out there really pay any attention to it, or take it seriously? I know I didn’t. It was kind of funny actually, and the logo was kind of cool. So why are we paying any mind to this whole file sharing thing? Most music nuts download out of print stuff anyway, and probably spend more money on music than the average consumer.

********************************

NPR’s Top Picks Of The Year…So Far.

  1. Gorillaz:  Plastic Beach
  2. The National:  High Violet
  3. The Black Keys:  Brothers
  4. Broken Bells:  Broken Bells
  5. LCD Soundsystem:  This Is Happening
  6. Vampire Weekend:  Contra
  7. Beach House:  Teen Dream
  8. Mumford and Sons:  Sigh No More
  9. Spoon:  Transference
  10. Sleigh Bells:  Treats

Not bad, but I must be getting old ‘cause I’m not familiar with Broken Bells, Mumford and Sons or Sleigh Bells. Sigh…

