Best Albums Of 2009

SFAWell, we’re barely 1/3 of the way through 2009 and I can count the great albums released this year thus far on one hand. If this continues I won’t have enough to do a top 20 come December. That’s the way it always starts, yes? Slowly. Hope so. Anyway, here’s some of my favorite releases of the year so far. As always, please chime in with your picks.

Super Furry Animals, DARK DAYS/LIGHT YEARS: A stunning album from start to finish. Fun, guitar driven, beat/jam oriented utilizing everything from 70’s glam to classic krautrock. Something will have to be pretty damn good to knock this one off it’s pedestal.

M Ward, HOLD TIME: Not gonna win Matt Ward any new fans, but a fairly solid album from start to finish. Strummy, back porch music with a lot of soul. And Zooey Deschanel’s contributions are an added bonus!

The Horrors, PRIMARY COLOURS: Excellent stroll through post punk 80’s, kind of like a blend of Psychedelic Furs, New Order, Bauhaus and The Cure with a dash of The Jesus And Mary Chain thrown in for good measure. I like this more each time I hear it.

Bob Dylan, TOGETHER THROUGH LIFE: A solid effort, but not as good as his last proper studio effort, Modern Times. I’ll admit I’m a bit spoiled by last years “Bootleg Series, Vol 8”. That sounded more like an actual album than this, but this one sounds like Mr Dylan had a lot of fun making it, which is not a bad thing…

Pet Shop Boys, YES: Not sure how I feel about this one yet. I like it, I’m just not IN LOVE with it. Yet.

…and that’s about it so far for 2009. I have high hopes for the new Flaming Lips and Wilco CD’s (both due out in Summer, I think), Blur, and I hope that, as always, there will be new discoveries along the way that just blow me away.

On a personal note to YEPROC RECORDS: “YOU BETTER DAMN WELL PUT OUT AN EXPANDED AND REMASTERED VERSION OF NICK LOWE’S “LABOUR OF LUST” BEFORE THE END OF THE YEAR, BOYOS,  OR I’LL TEEPEE YOUR OFFICES!!!!”

