What Do Philbert And Rolling Stone Magazine Have In Common?

Below you’ll find a list of Rolling Stone’s “Top 30 Songs Of All Time”. Rolling Stone magazine ceased to be a credible music resource for me years ago. I seldom agree with their critics choices for these lists but they’re still kind of fun, and I have to agree that some of the top 30 are spot on, others, well…let’s just say that I would have placed “God Only Knows” much higher.

Do you agree? What did they miss?

#1. Like A Rolling Stone, Bob Dylan
#2. Satisfaction, The Rolling Stones
#3. Imagine, John Lennon
#4. What’s Going On, Marvin Gaye
#5. Respect, Aretha Franklin
#6. Good Vibrations, Beach Boys
#7. Johnny B Goode, Chuck Berry
#8. Hey Jude, The Beatles
#9. Smells Like Teen Spirit, Nirvana
#10. What’d I Say, Ray Charles
#11. My Generation, The Who
#12. A Change Is Gonna Come, Sam Cooke
#13. Yesterday, The Beatles
#14. Blowin’ In The Wind, Bob Dylan
#15. London Calling, The Clash
#16. I Want To Hold Your Hand, The Beatles
#17. Purple Haze, Jimi Hendrix
#18. Maybellene, Chuck Berry
#19. Hound Dog, Elvis Presley
#20. Let It Be
#21. Born To Run, Bruce Springsteen
#22. Be My Baby, The Ronettes
#23. In My Life, The Beatles
#24. People Get Ready, The Impressions
#25. God Only Knows, The Beach Boys
#26. A Day In The Life, The Beatles
#27. Layla, Derek And The DOminos
#28. (Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay, Otis Redding
#29. Help!, The Beatles
#30. I Walk The LIne, Johnny Cash

…and just for kicks, here’s the bottom 10…

#491. You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me, Dusty Springfield
#492. Running On Empty, Jackson Browne
#493. Then He Kissed Me, The Crystals
#494. Desperado, The Eagles
#495. Shop Around, Smokey Robinson And TheMiracles
#496. Miss You, The Rolling Stones
#497. Buddy Holly, Weezer
#498. Rainy NIght In Georgia, Brook Benton
#499. The Boys Are Back In Town, Thin Lizzy
#500. More Than A Feeling, Boston

