Criminally Hidden From American Ears

action-pact

I’m sitting here in my little computer room in Northern California listening to one of the catchiest bands in the universe and wondering why they aren’t bigger than Jesus.
That not very clever Beatles reference was totally intentional because, you see, the 4 Canucks in the band Sloan are musical geniuses. I’m not comparing them to the 4 geniuses in that other band because that would be futile and more than a little ignorant, but I will say that Sloan is one of the great bands of the last 25 years without question.

As most of you will already know I am a huge sucker for a good power pop hook And believe me when I say that every single album these hosers from Nova Scotia have released have contained more than their fare share. Take the melodies of McCartney and Lennon, the guitars of Big Star and the energy and enthusiasm of the Raspberries and you’re almost there. Each one of the four band members composes, performs and sings on each album and each has a distinct style that keeps things fresh from album to album. The lazy Pitchforkian criticism for a band as consistent as Sloan is that the albums sound kind of similar. I’m here to tell you categorically that that is not the case. An album as excellent as the hilariously titled, 30 song “Never Hear The End Of It” can be a little overwhelming taken in one large gulp, but judge each track on it’s own merit and you can clearly see the differentiation and originality from track to track.

This is the first band in a very long while that I have felt the need to instantly and quickly hunt down everything in their back catalogue. Which I did in about two days.

Buy the following albums immediately, in this order:

Never Hear The End Of It

Action Pact

Between The Bridges

Parallel Play

One Chord To Another

Navy Blues

Twice Removed

Pretty Together

Smeared

 

 

 
 

 

