Uncle E’s iPod Roulette

ipod-rouletteHaven’t done this for a while and after paring down the old library to just over 7,500 songs it seems like the perfect time to do it again, as the boys in Steely Dan like to say. The rules remain the same as always: put the iPod on shuffle mode and write down the first 15 songs that appear no matter how embarrassing they may be. Here goes…

#1. Makin’ Whoopee by Frank Sinatra. Hey, it’s old blue eyes himself, making his first appearance on IR! I love Sinatra, and this is one of his more cheeky numbers from his “Songs For Swingin’ Lovers” LP. Nice start.

#2. One More Time by The Clash. From Sandinista!, my favorite Clash album. A dubtastic reggae classic from disc III (of the original vinyl), which I am a little loathe to admit could’ve benefitted from some serious editing. Nontheless it’s still a great album and this is a fantastic track.

#3. Sundown by Gordon Lightfoot. Ohhh, that was a close one! I enjoy Lightfoot, but let me just say that some of his more maudlin selections could’ve been a disaster. Thank God it was this one…

#4. Pinhead by The Ramones. Not one of my favorites from the NY ripped jeans gang, but passable in a generic way.

#5. Shting Shtang by Nick Lowe. This one is from Untouched Takeaway, a live album, and this is one of the more energetic numbers. Pure rockabilly sarcasm and a load of fun. Holly, if you’re reading this, is that a sqeezebox I hear?

#6. Hang On To Youself by David Bowie. I love this period of Bowie’s, so very sleazy and glamtastic! It sounds as if Ronson’s guitar strings are just hanging off the neck of his guitar; it’s so damn loose sounding… it’s just a friggin’ great song. From Ziggy Stardust.

#7. Calling Your Name by Simple Minds. This is from Reel To Real Cacophony, their first real breakthrough. Before they became John Hughes’ biaches.

#8. Incense And Peppermint by Strawberry Alarm Clock. Yes, it’s a little precious, the title and lyrics being totally of their time, but it still rocks.

#9. Dire Wolf by The Grateful Dead. From their most commercial period and from their most commercial album, “Workingman’s Dead”. Good track but not my favorite from that album.

#10. Let’s Eat Out by Bootsauce. Oh God. BLAMMMM! There goes my head, clean off. This little politically incorrect gem comes courtesy of our brethren from up north. I used to love these Red Hot Chili Pepper wannabe’s when I was barely out of my teens but it’s dated terribly. Hope the next track redeems me.

#11. Helter Skelter by The Beatles. Thank you Paul McCartney!

#12. The Turn Of A Friendly Card Pt. II by The Alan Parsons Project. I can’t help it, I maintain a soft spot for these guys, especially their earlier stuff. You probably remember the big hit from this album, Games People Play. Stop laughing! At least Parson’s had the good sense to use Colin Blunstone for most of the  vocals!!

#13. From A Buick 6 by Bob Dylan. Great number, this. Reminds me a bit of Maggie’s Farm, and  just as good in my estimation as well.

#14. You Can’t Get What You Want by Joe Jackson. I’m a huge fan of the guy, but this track has never done it for me. Joe does sophisto-white boy faux jazz better than anybody, but this just always seemed a little too bland for my taste. One dud in a career filled with gems isn’t too bad.

#15. What Do I Get? by The Buzzcocks. The mighty, mighty Buzzcocks, this one from the compilation “Singles Going Steady”, one of the best power pop/ punk albums ever recorded. I’ve got to listen to this more.

